The number of Senate members, including the Speaker, should not exceed half the House of Representatives members. Senate members are directly appointed by His Majesty the King as per terms specified by the Constitution.

The Speaker of the Senate is appointed by His Majesty the King by a Royal Decree, for a two-year renewable term.

The Permanent Bureau of the Senate consists of the Speaker and his two deputies and two assistants. The two deputies and two assistants are elected for a two-year term: